A Brief History of Tay House
As you look over our more-than 85 year-old cabin it is impossible to ignore the feeling that Tay House is rich with tradition, history, and good times. Troop 19 was first chartered in 1919 at Brighton Presbyterian Church. In 1925 the troop moved to School No. 1 and became sponsored by the school's PTA. Construction of Tay House Cabin in 1931 came about largely through the efforts of J. Taylor Howard, or "Uncle Tay," who was tremendously active with the troop from its chartering until his death.
In 2007 the troop moved its charter to Asbury First United Methodist Church. While the troop continues to meet at Tay House Cabin each week, this new alignment provides the troop with many valuable resources.
From these early beginings and through the present, Tay House has contributed to the experiences of thousands of scouts and awarded more than 350 Eagles. This long history has lead to a unique philosophy of scouting and a number of traditions that are caried on in the troop today.